How you can go from writing to inspiring fanfics

index

Have you ever stopped and thought to yourself, ‘will my hours of writing fan fiction ever come in handy one day’?  Well, now you can learn all about the benefits of fan fiction in one easy to read book. That book is Career Building Through Fan Fiction Writing: New Work Based on Favourite Fiction by Miriam Segall It may not be the best book, but it’s definitely the best introductory to fan fiction I have ever read.

I used to write fan fiction all the time. Because of this, a lot of the information wasn’t new. The first chapter was basically a rundown of fan fiction to those that have never heard of it. Some basic terminology was explained, and I was slightly disappointed at the fact that ‘lemon’ wasn’t introduced.  All of this was irrelevant to me, but I can see how a beginner would find all of this important. Even her inclusion of the legality behind fan fiction was useful, even though I have heard some of it before.

I did, however, discover some new pieces of trivia. Not only has fan fiction technically been around since the 15th Century, but the Bronte sisters also wrote real life fan fiction. Meg Cabot, one of my favourite writers when I was younger, admitted that she used fan fiction to explore writing. It’s just nice to learn how fan fiction isn’t a new fad, and it actually helps young writers. Yes, there are other stories, but you have to read it to learn them.

There was one section that annoyed me a little bit. It included tips on how to get better at writing fan fiction, but they were mostly generic. I think it would have been better if Segall included more tips that are directly linked to fan fiction, because you could read what she wrote anywhere. I did, however, love each time she mentioned that writing fan fiction does help you become a better writer. This is just something I strongly believe in, so it’s great to see it being reinforced.

There’s really not a lot more to say about this book. It’s probably less than fifty pages of writing altogether, and I managed to read all of it on the ride home from University. I wouldn’t pay more than $5 for it, but it was definitely an interesting read.  If I read this book eight years ago, I might have given it a 7 or 8 out of 10. However, as most of the information was very basic for me, and probably aimed at a younger audience, I’m going to have to give it a 5.8/10.

Leave a Reply

